Our Non-executive directors

Find out about the Cell and Gene Therapy Catapult Non-executive directors who jointly oversee the activities of the Cell and Gene Therapy Catapult.


Dr John Brown, CBE, FRSE


John has extensive experience in the life sciences sector. He is Chairman of ProStrakan Group plc, Touch Bionics, CXR Biosciences and Synpromics, a Non-executive Director of Vectura Group plc and BioCity Nottingham and previously was Chairman of BTG plc and Axis-Shield plc.

In the public sector, he is also Chairman of The Roslin Foundation and the Easter Bush Development Board, co-Chairs the Life Sciences Industry Advisory Board for the Scottish Government and has recently retired as a member of the Scottish Science Advisory Council. He is an advisor to private equity and venture capital funds, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and Honorary Professor of the University of Edinburgh. John was Chief Executive of Acambis plc, a leading producer of vaccines to treat and prevent infectious disease, from 1997-2004.

Nick Higgins

Non-Executive Director

Nick is an independent consultant advising life science companies on all aspects of business and corporate development. He has a first degree in biochemistry and MScs in biochemical engineering and the management of intellectual property.

Until the beginning of 2013, Nick was Corporate Development Director of Consort Medical. Before joining Consort, he was Chief Executive of Intercytex Group plc, a company focused on regenerative medicine, from 2005 to 2010. Prior to Intercytex, Nick was Chief Business Officer at Acambis plc, a vaccines company, for 11 years. His early career was with Unilever Research, PA Consulting Group and Porton Developments.

Professor Marc Turner

Non-Executive Director

Marc is Professor of Cellular Therapy at the University of Edinburgh and Medical Director at the Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service. He qualified in Medicine from the University of Manchester in 1982 and trained in General Medicine and Haematology.

He obtained his PhD in human haematopoietic stem cell biology from the University of Edinburgh in 1995, and an MBA in Life Sciences from the Open University in 2007. Marc is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London, a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, a Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine and a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.

Marc’s research interests include immunohaematology, variant CJD transmission by blood and tissues, and translational research in stem cell therapy and adoptive immunotherapy. He has 130 publications and has held 35 research grants.

Dr Steven Chatfield

Non-Executive Director

Steve has spent more than 35 years working in the field of research and development within the Biopharma industry and now works as an independent consultant. His career has focussed on leading the development of new healthcare interventions with a particular emphasis on vaccines and immunotherapy products to combat infectious disease, including experience in the biodefense sector. 

His previous roles include Executive positions at Medeva plc, Microscience Ltd, and Emergent Biosolutions.  Steve also served as an Executive Director of the Health Protection Agency where he was responsible for emergency preparedness and response.  Steve is also the Chairman of Prokarium Ltd, a private UK vaccines company. Steve is passionate about translational research – driving new technologies and products towards commercialisation and has a thorough understanding of the product development process, from research to product launch.  Steve holds a PhD in microbiology and has published more than 100 papers in the field of biotechnology.

Stuart Henderson

Non-Executive Director

Stuart is a senior audit partner at Deloitte. Based in Cambridge since 1985, firstly with Andersen, before moving to Deloitte in 2002, he has served clients in the life sciences sector for over 30 years from start up to IPO and beyond and has extensive transaction experience.

He led the European Healthcare and Life Sciences practice for Deloitte for seven years from 2004 during which time served on the firm’s Global sector industry team. He is a former board member of the Babraham Institute.

Professor Sir Bruce Keogh

Professor Sir Bruce Keogh

Non-Executive Director

Sir Bruce has had a distinguished international career as a cardiac surgeon. He held the chair of Cardiac Surgery at University College London before being appointed Medical Director of the NHS in the Department of Health in 2007, subsequently migrating to become the National Medical Director of NHS England between 2013-2018.

For a decade he was the professional lead for doctors in the NHS and was responsible for clinical policy and strategy, promoting quality, clinical leadership and innovation across the service. He was the sponsor for NICE, the Healthcare Commission and the National Patient Safety Agency. With a longstanding interest in the measurement of clinical outcomes he has served on the boards of the Commission for Health Improvement and Healthcare Commission between 2002-2007. He has recently become Chair of the Birmingham Women’s and Children’s NHS Foundation Trust. He was knighted for services to medicine in 2003.

Hilary Newiss

Non-Executive Director

Hilary Newiss is a lawyer and former partner in Denton Hall solicitors, now Dentons. She graduated from Oxford University in PPP (physiology and experimental psychology) and then as a lawyer specialised in intellectual property law, including patents and data in Life Sciences.

Since retiring from full time legal practice she has served on several public bodies in the science, innovation, data, health and ethics fields, continuing her lifelong interest in innovation and its translation to industry and benefit to society. She is an experienced non-executive Director and currently a Trustee of the Natural History Museum, Chair of National Voices (an umbrella group for 160 Health and Social Care charities), a member of the Accelerated Access Collaborative and a trustee of the Roslin Foundation.

Previously, Hilary was a Non-Executive Director of the Francis Crick Institute, a member of the National Information Governance Board for Health and Social care, the ethics and governance board for Biobank UK and the Intellectual Property Advisory Group. She has also served on the Accelerated Access Review, the Human Genetics Commission and the Royal Society IP working party, co-authoring or advising on several publications on innovation, intellectual property and science and the use of personal data in health.

Professor Uta Griesenbach

Professor Uta Griesenbach

Non-Executive Director

Uta is a Professor in Molecular Medicine at Imperial College London and President of the British Society for Gene and Cell Therapy from 2017-2021. Uta has over 20 years experience in developing advanced therapeutic medicines.

Her research interests are related to the development of gene and cell therapy-based treatments for cystic fibrosis and other lung diseases. As part of her translational research, Uta has overseen vector and biomarker development, toxicology studies, as well as GMP vector manufacturing. Uta is Co-Investigator on several gene therapy trials, including a recently completed non-viral Phase IIb study. Uta is a Strategy Group Member of the UK Cystic Fibrosis Gene Therapy Consortium. In addition, Uta is interested in teaching and work-force development. She is Deputy-director for post-graduate research at the National Heart and Lung Institute and Programme director for the MSc in Genes, Drugs and Stem Cells-Novel Therapies at Imperial College.


Discover who we are